last - guestbook - next

Written, Wednesday, Jun. 18, 2003 at around: 3:37 PM

Spoke to shutupmom.diaryland.com

:-)

This was way too funny for me not to post a link. If I didn't wanna see Finding Nemo before, I really do now. I hope some kid does that just so I can laugh.

I prank called her earlier today on my cellphone... (which is an invite that I thought was a joke) and had a good conversation. Shutupmom is 25 or 26, but she sounds really, really young. After speaking with her, I believe that she's the age she claims she is, but still-- she sounded like a little girl.

Fun phone conversations, brought to you by diaryland.

Love and adoration,

Pam


Written, Wednesday, Jun. 18, 2003 at around: 2:30 PM

Hello, and things

*Long Entry Alert*

Coffee...
I mean, hey... how�s it going? I just had the most delectable cup of office coffee. That sentence had a large number of words ending in �e�.... Anyway, the coffee was good, and inspiring. I think I�m going to bother some of the associate editors today, and ask them to give me things to do that they don�t wanna do. That�ll more than likely happen after lunch, right now I have some silly data entry project that I encouraged Bill to give me. Deep down inside, I now regret this.

I�ve been begging for more work since I got this job. Usually, I�ll do my best to ward off the evil sprits of our sales department and the things they want me to do for them. It�s so lovely to work in a department which is sales-request immune. At EDU I was required to service every desire of the whimsical salespeople. Most of the time, that meant doing a bunch of stupid shit that wasn�t in my job description. Wait, I didn�t really have a job description when I was there. That�s how they got me. Well, how about that.

Anyway, Bill is a great manager, because he�s all about the �Don�t trust the sales people� attitude. Don�t get me wrong, one of my favorite co-workers at EDU was Erica, and she�s a salesperson, but at work, they can be rather demanding, and try to sell you into doing shit that you don�t want / have to do. They�re very convincing people... That seems like it should be a sign of a good sales team, but not in-house. I really am not going to buy any advertising in Promotional Marketing Magazine. Each of our sales people seem to start their conversations with a handshake. That�d be slick with anyone but me, because in general, I don�t like being touched. Why are you gonna shake my hand when 1- I work with you and 2- you already know me? Don�t touch me. Well, no matter how slimy they seem, Bill instructed me not to trust any of them. And I�ll gladly adhere.

If only I could be so defensive of salespeople in real life sales situations. Oh wait, I am, but just of not the cute ones who sell me hundreds of dollars of stuff at game stop. Did I ever tell that story? I�m sure I did the day after it happened, but since most of you haven�t been reading that long, I have nothing better to do, and I feel like it-- let me give you a little recap. My boyfriend is really great at convincing people of things. Even now that we�re dating, he catches me sometimes with some ol� verbal highjacks. Anyway, on with the intended story. When I went to go buy my PS2, I had over six hundred dollars in cash (Damn, I miss those days) in my pocket. I had no intentions of spending more than like $370 on the system, a game, and maybe a DVD.

That may have very well been so if Frank hadn�t been working the day I went to get my PS2, because I know I could have told anyone else who was working there at the time that I didn�t want to get the extra stuff I was being sold, but he convinced me. Well, it wasn�t even that he convinced me, because I usually am not particularly receptive to �convincing� sales pitches unless it�s something that I really want, and can afford. He flirted with me. I�m such a sucker. Well, not in general, it�s just that in this situation there�s a cute boy who I wanted behind the counter. Damnit. (just to clarify, he had a girlfriend at the time)

Anyway, he started talking. My first mistake was that I lingered and listened before he started ringing up the items I had initially selected. Frank is like Captain Picard of Star Trek in that respect. You�re better off if you just walk away from- or kill him, rather than listen to him talk. If only more bad guys had just killed Picard, then they wouldn�t have ended up having their plans for interplanetary domination destroyed. Seriously! Frank could sell two aspirins that he claims are rufees to a virgin. He could then convince her that after she took them that she was under the influence of a sexual drug, and get her to sleep with him. Well, maybe not. I�d hope not, that�d be a little disturbing.

I digress.

I ended up spending a little over five hundred dollars on a PS2, an extra controller, four games, two DVD�s and some other miscellaneous shit. Damnit. It�s not like I didn�t want the stuff I bought... They were all games I had thought about buying, but I left feeling a tad hoodwinked. [expletive deleted]

Speaking of the hoodwinking boyfriend, let me tell you guys about something that happens to me all the time. He and my mom have very similar cell phone numbers. It�s like the area code and the first three digits are the same, and they share the same last digit. How about I give you an example. Just imagine that you�ve got a parent who�s number is 610-234-5019 and a boyfriend/girlfriend who�s number is 610-234-1739. Pretty damn similar right? Maybe they could be mistaken. I�ve committed both of these telephone numbers to memory. My mom�s number used to be my cellphone number ages ago, so you�d think it wouldn�t be a problem to think of the person, and just dial their number. That�s natural, right? Well, oh diary reader, it doesn�t always work out that way.

I�ll be calling my mom (mostly out of necessity), and the phone will ring a couple of times. I hear the button pushed in on the other end of the phone, and the phone is picked up. �Hello...� says a male voice... I say hello back. In my head (every time) I think, �Hey, that sounds a lot like Frank.. I wonder why he has my mom�s cell phone... Oh shit--- Whoops!� Around this point I start laughing and apologizing. I always want to be able to play it off like I meant to call him, but I�m too silly and goofy, so I just start laughing at my own mistake. That, and I�m not a very good liar.

It doesn�t get that far into the conversation with my mom. At least the one time that I�ve intended to call Frank, and got my mom instead. The phone rings like four times (because it takes her a while to find her phone... she doesn�t usually have it with her, or hear it for that matter) and she picks up the phone with a cheery, �Hi!� I don�t call her without some reason (like she told me to call her or something) so she gets excited by an unexpected call. Then I start laughing. �Oh mom, I gotta go, I meant to call frank.� And I�m like, �It�s time to say goodbye now,� and get her to hang up.

I think it�s no mental mistake that I�m more likely to dial Frank�s number when I�m calling my mom. It�s like, �I�d much rather talk to him, so mom can wait,� or something.

I should just get a phone with a speed dial feature and set them as 1 and 2.

I read Ail�s journal earlier and it made me a little sad. Her boyfriend is leaving to go to Japan again and get his thing on. What that thing is, I really don�t know. It kinda touched me personally, because it reminded me of my first boyfriend, who I really really liked, but he went away to be with his family in Florida. I mean, he had family and stuff here in Pennsylvania too, but school, his dad and step-mom were in Florida. His mom and aunts were up here for him to be with during the summer, but his dad had school year custody or something weird like that. I don�t remember the details, that was like nine years ago. Wow... that�s a long time.

Anyway, Ali is gonna have to be strong, because she�s been with her boyfriend for a while... as long as I�ve known her. Heh, she calls him snuggles, and honestly I can�t see that guy being called �Snuggles,� with his brooding, long haired appearance. That�s so cute. Well, good luck Ali. :-D

Gabi got Linux, which has steadily increased the percentage of Linux operating systems visiting my site. I use sitemeter for my stats and such, which is a great (read: free) way to check your traffic. Through sitemeter, I�ve become familiar with the differences between the PA, DE, TN (Yes I get some visitors from Tennessee.. I have no idea who) and NJ Comcast IP addresses, and I�ve gotten a good idea of who visits when, and where. I know too much. I must be killed. Wait, I can�t kill myself for knowing things...

D�oh.

Yesterday I was watching MTV and I was kind of bummed out about how I missed the auditions for Say What Karaoke. I�ve been a fan of the show for a really long time, but I�ve never been to an audition for the show. A couple of weeks ago I got an email from the casting people (A big �ol mass email that they send to everyone who expresses interest in auditioning for singin� and dancin� stuff) saying that they�re having auditions today and tomorrow at the MTV offices in NYC. I got all excited! My mom even said she�d buy me a greyhound ticket. Yay!

You don�t understand, dude-- I really want to do this. A weird part of me really enjoys auditioning, although I never seem to get a part. Then again, I go to these huge auditions (MTV�s Wannabes, MTV real world, and Star Search) with tons of very talented people who make a living off of auditioning. I have this crazy weird luck. Seriously, I do. Little things, like these little itty bitty extra roles, and starring in Love Hurts were things I just walked into. The guy at my karaoke bar is all about having me come back every tuesday, because he knows people will stick around if my over-acting silliness is there.

I love acting and singing so much, however I�m always afraid of the fact that I�m not doing well. It�s like, I wake up in the morning with all this overwhelmingly awesome self-confidance, which is great. Then I start to wonder how I sound. I�ll then start wondering how I look, and slowly overthink things, and feel terribly insecure. It�s totally crazy, but it�s a guarantee. Not one of those nifty money back ones, but that�s only because my over thinking is free of charge. Ah, that�s why I like karaoke, because it�s not a contest, and you can be horrible, but if you�re having a good time, no one will be upset, or disappointed.

Well, I�m going to go to the audition tomorrow afternoon, and hopefully they�ll want me to come back this weekend. Even if they don�t, I always have a great time at the MTV auditions, and it�s uber-cool... I get to go to New York for half a day. Yay! I haven�t been to New York at all so far this year. I miss the dirty, nasty, crowded streets, and the pink trash bags. I was kinda hoping that I�d be taking Frank to New York the first time that I headed up there this year, but there�s always next week, right? I need to get around to discussing this with him, lol.

Hey, I�m gonna go. This entry has gotten far too long, so I�m going to end it now. Have a great afternoon, and an even better tomorrow!! :-D

Love and adoration,

Pam


last - guestbook - next



my livejournal
People Glossary
Old shit
Sign my guestbook
Diaryland.com

This is so fucking cute:



*HUGS* TOTAL! give miabogard more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

copyright pam newman, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004 goddamnit. ... You over reacted?