last - guestbook - next

Written, Wednesday, Feb. 04, 2004 at around: 2:03 PM

Getting the Act together

As I was looking for things to keep me occupied, and my mind off of the six (or is it seven?) people who I have birthday presents to buy for this month, I came accross something I had heard about before-

The Monolouge Slam.

It's pretty much an acting american idol (or at least that's how the Philadelphia Weekly discribed it), and I really would like to go. It's like this-- 20 actors and actresses get up on stage, perform their monolouges and compete against each other in a battle of mono. Um, in a battle of performance. So one person wins, and they get a 25 dollar gift certificate, and they move onto the next round, where they compete for the opportunity to perform in the philly fringe festival. Oooos and ahhhs.

That whole "this is a lot like american idol" thing doesn't really scare me. I'm a karaoke talent, and get applause there, however, since I haven't performed in front of sober people in a while, I'm sure my voice sounds like hot cat intercourse. I'm not afraid of my acting skills as much as I'm scared of my singing talent. My soft little ego is also for whatever reason not too bruised by constructive critizim about my acting, rather than my vocal performance. I'm not a fantastic singer anyway, so when someone says, "that could use some work," I'm more likely to hear "Your singing fucking sucks," than, "Acting ain't for you, sweetheart."

So, I'm going to go to the monolouge slam this sunday, and see what it's all about. It's like, 5 bucks to go, so I won't be breaking the bank, and if it's fun, and/or worthwhile, then I'll enter for next time. I need to seriously get back on track as far as my acting, because I haven't really done anything in front of an audiance since early last year, so it's time to get my ass in gear.

So this is going to be the first step.

Maybe I'll start saving 20 bucks a week (40 bucks a check) for professional headshots. We'll see. One step at a time. I'm already planning to save up for las vegas, a tattoo, and a potential new apartment come fall. That's just hurting my brain thinking about it, and I haven't saved anything yet. Ugh.

Okay, so yeah, acting. That's the plan. I hope this poetry slam thing rocks, and I'm really encouraged to become a part of it, because I need that boost.... and if I do like it, I'll need a good monolouge. Maybe I'll get one of my scores of writer-friends to write me a good one.

Hey, any of you guys want to come with me to said slam of monolouges?

love and adoration,

Pam


last - guestbook - next



my livejournal
People Glossary
Old shit
Sign my guestbook
Diaryland.com

This is so fucking cute:



*HUGS* TOTAL! give miabogard more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

copyright pam newman, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004 goddamnit. ... You over reacted?