last - guestbook - next

Written, Saturday, Oct. 25, 2003 at around: 10:50 PM

Table 9: Volume I

Hey,

Frank and I went to that wedding today. The one with the two people he knew (The bride & groom, Sue & Bobby, respectively) and no one I knew? I was glad that he asked me to go, because I always have a desire for us to go somewhere and dress up to go there, but we just aren't dress up and go somewhere kinda people... nor do we have dress-up-to-go-here money. Bummer, huh?

Uh, what was I talking about? Oh yeah...

Well let me tell you about this motherfucking wedding.

The ceremony was kinda shoddy, and started late. It was held in a chapel that reminded me a lot of the Kill Bill massacare, and was very cold, as there was no heat. This ceremony was filled to the brim with old, ugly, white people I didn't know, the dj sucked, and my meal was disgusting...

Wait, let me start at the beginning.

This journey began at nine thirty something am in front of my apartment. The entire ride up, I tried to get frank into good spirits about going to his friend's wedding. It was like 10am, and both of us were a little pissed about being awake so early on a weekend. So I'm a little grumpy and hungry, and he's not big on going to weddings (or most social gatherings where he doesn't know too many folks) and he's doing a good job of convincing me that I don't really want to go either.

To be honest, I was sorta-kinda looking forward to the reception (True quote: "Nigga don't turn down no free food," - anonomous), but I had absouletly no desire to attend the wedding of two people I'd never met. Why bother? I don't know these motherfuckers. I'm sure they're nice and everything, but uh... okay, let me stand up as one of two black people in a chapel filled with like seventy white folks, while two italian people who I don't know exchange vows, and then afterwords, I'll shake hands with the moms and dads of these two people I don't know. That sounds like so much fucking fun, I could burst.

Yeah, so we went to the damn ceremony.

I was not enthused about staying too long at the reception, but Frank was friends with this guy, and kept saying, "We'll leave shortly after dinner's served." I was like, okay. Cool. We'll be out asap. Word.

We walk in, and we were the fucks that got sat at table 9. Nine people were seated at this table. The nine people that Bobby and Sue apperently wanted furthest away from the wedding party-- because we were the misfits in the corner.

We sat down, and it seemed like a few people knew each other, and I thought to myself, "Okay, I can either sit here and say nothing to these fucks and keep to myself all afternoon, or I can initiate table-wide conversation." If you know me, you know which one I picked. I asked if everyone knew each other, and it all kicked off from there.

The entire table made for great pals. We had an awesome time, and although there are tons of stories (Which I really will tell) I'm really tuckered out, so I'll give you the rest of the details tomorrow. It's good stuff, trust me.

Yeah, the cermony kind of sucked, but I'll be goddamned if I didn't have a great time at that reception.

More on Bobby & Sue's wedding, and the round table of nine tomorrow.

Love and adoration,

Pam


last - guestbook - next



my livejournal
People Glossary
Old shit
Sign my guestbook
Diaryland.com

This is so fucking cute:



*HUGS* TOTAL! give miabogard more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

copyright pam newman, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004 goddamnit. ... You over reacted?