last - guestbook - next

Written, Monday, Sept. 29, 2003 at around: 4:46 PM

Gobbledy goop I wrote and stuff

Dude,

My mouth is not as sore as it's been, but it's still damn sore. I'm soooo tired. My period ought to start tomorrow... that is provided that this patch does it's job, which I'm sure it will.

I've been looking at the Philly Film office website on and off again, looking for an audiovisual job-- (I'm on the prowl for a carrer where I can make 200,000 bucks in a year working only six months out of the year). I don't care how many jobs I have to quit to find the one that's gonna make me happy, damnit. That's final. I'm tired of doing 'jobs.' I want a carrer that's gonna make me happy, and being a lemming of a glorified data entry jockey sure ain't it. Just this time, I'm not going to quit the job first. I'll find a new one, before quitting this one.

I found this one gig that I'm totally qualified for and could probabally get as a television Production Assistant. I'd learn tons from that job, and it's a great opportunity... BUT... it's a paycut from my already crummy paying job as an editor at the trade magizines that you'll never hear about. Cripes. It only pays 22,000 a year. You've gotta be fucking kidding me! That's less than welfare in some states!!!

So instead of applying for the Production Assistant job that I'm sure I'd get, I looked at film crew postings. I was thinking about just doing some light (read: part time voulnteer) Production Assistant work for the next six months. (Don't know what a PA does? Think of what you think an intern does in an office. Now think about that in film and television production. There ya go.) I'm a fairly quick learner on the job, and in artistic ventures I'd like to think that I understand other people's 'visons' rather easily. So I'll do that, maybe get paid for some of my work, maybe not. Then, in january, I'll take a week off to go to the the Sundance festival, whore myself out (resume and buisness card wise) and see if I could get a full time gig with a year's expereince. It sounds really crazy, but I know me and my luck, so I might come out of sundance with that 200k job I want so badly.

I also *really* want to work on my acting, but that's a null go until I pay for some headshots. I'd also love to take some more classes, but classes also cost money, and the pam trend has been that she'd rather spend money on fun, immedate things than buy things that will do her good in the long run. Yeah, I know... bad habit!!! I'm being way too cheap about all this, I know, but there are other things that look like so much more fun to buy. Maybe I'll get some cheap 100 dollar headshots toward the end of october, provided my skin clears up a little.

In other news, the weekend was okay. Nothing to write home about, but very calm. I'm not quite in the mood to write an account of the entire weekend. All I have to say is that Christopher Walken is a funny bastard. A funny bastard indeed.

Okay, bye!

l 'n a: Pam


last - guestbook - next



my livejournal
People Glossary
Old shit
Sign my guestbook
Diaryland.com

This is so fucking cute:



*HUGS* TOTAL! give miabogard more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

copyright pam newman, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004 goddamnit. ... You over reacted?