last - guestbook - next

Written, Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2004 at around: 9:16 AM

In love

I'm such a girl.

Today is our annaversiary. One whole year... somehow it doesn't feel like it's been that long.

He was kind of upset that I didn't remind him earlier, but whatever. He didn't remember, and honestly I didn't expect him to. He's a guy. Besides, it's not terribly important. We're both kind of broke, and have each other's birthdays to worry about (And valentines day... damn...) Just having his company later on (Which I'm sure I'll be able to manage) is present enough for me.

God, that was really fucking mushy coming out of me! Wow!

Although a lot of the curcumstances of last year were difficult for both of us, his presence in my life made it all managable, and worthwhile. I like to think that I made my best efforts to do the same for him, as I see us being each other's support systems in one way or another. We have a really great bond, in our friendship, in sexuality, and in all the ways that two people get along. I think we rock. Frank is a kind, supportive, caring man who I adore spending time with, and I look forward to spending more time with him in the coming year. My boyfriend rocks a whole lot. And No i don't wanna break up with him.

Since he reads this reguarly I'll be all public-y and whatnot.

I love you, Tiger. :-D

Ahem. No, I'm not blushing, it's just the cold on my cheeks.

Anyway....

Last night was so much fun. I haven't done a "This is what I did last night" update in a while.

Last night was our first installment of Resturant week. I don't think I got into how we're doing resturant week this year. I've been too wrapped up in birthdays and valentines day shit.

Philly does this thing where dinner-serving resturants offer a 3 course meal for 30 bucks per person. The event lasts for about six days, and it's a pretty cool way to try new places. It's a great deal at some of these expensive resturants, and gives poor folks like myself an opportunity to try new places without having to shell out life-saving-like funds.

Last night we went to this place: Cibucan. It's a Spanish restaurant in center city with a well-stocked bar. Mmm hmm. We had some really good stuff... and Frank tried some new things, which made me very happy. I love exposing him to new stuff (Food, places, people), mostly because he has a tendancy to pre-judge things, and will say he doesn't like stuff he's never tried.

We took Septa (philly's public transit system) there because it was snowing very hard. Plus I don't think either of us wanted to pay for parking. It was snowing really hard, but it wasn't insanely cold like it's been here lately. I'm sure it was like 28 degrees out or something close to 30. I wore my short little red asian skirt and my "Hi, these are my b-cup boobs, nice to meet you. I'm pam," white turtleneck. I wasn't too cold, but I did almost slip and fall on the way home, which was very funny.

So the resturant... Oh my god the drinks. Strong as mike-fucking-tyson, man. I got an orange martini. Dude. it was like 8 fuzzy navels in there. The shit was strong, it was almost straight orange vodka! It was really good, and you're damn right that I finished it. Frank got a strawberry margirita, and I tried it... whoo boy. That drink was so strong it made my pubic hair grow. I don't think he finished his, but he had to eventually drive home, so I understand why there was margirita left in his glass, lol.

He tried Lamb sausage last night. My boyfriend, Frank, ate Lamb sausage. Oh man, I was so excited. He liked it too. I tried a little bit of it, and I liked it too (I've also had lamb before, and am a big fan... if you haven't tried lamb, and you eat meat, you should try it. It's like a pussified version of beef.)

Oh! And I thought they were going to serve us plantians and salsa for the "Bread" part of the meal, but they gave us soft rolls (that tased like they were from a familiar center city bakery, which I'm sure they were) and this olive-oil and hot sauce stuff to dip the bread in. Oh, I tell you- that oil stuff was fucking good. Seriously, the spicyness was just right, and the oil gave the spicy flavor a bit of a rub down. Great stuff.

For our actual dinners, frank got lime & tequila marinated shrimp with cheese grits (REALLY good) and I got this stuffed pepper thing, which I didn't really like that much. It was filled with cheese and mushrooms. The cheese was a not-so-firm goat's cheese, and I'm usually a fan of goat cheese, but this style was kind of lazy. The consistancy was icky, but I dug the mushrooms, and there were other things in it, which I ate out of the cheese, and they were good too. I also had veggies and rice. The veggies were great, and I tore that rice up, lol.

Desert was good too. Frank had this nut-pie thing, and I ate this pastery filled with pineapple that had a tiny scoop of carmel ice cream on the side. Yummy.

I pretty much took the liberty of trying a little of everything frank ate, lol. Even his shrimp, which he almost didn't offer to me, lol. If he hadn't offered, I wouldn't have asked, but nigga don't turn down no free food, lol. That's the best phrase ever, and frank used it on me when I was preparing to pay the check.

It was all about 90 bucks after tax, liquor and tip, but that's a little less than we would have paid for two 20 dollar entrees, two 10 dollar appatizers, two 9 dollar deserts and two eight dollar drinks. That'd be about a hundred and thirty dollars after tax and tip.

What a bargian!

Anyway, it was super fun hanging out with Frank, and eating new food, and taking in the beauty of the snow outside the artistically decorated windows. The resturant itself was so colorful and bright-- and it was a treat for all the senses. We were within spititng distance of the bar, but it didn't smell of liquor where we sat, we smelled the faint smell of the kitchen (which smelled like yumminess), there was soft latin music playing-- not so soft that it was difficult to hear, but it had enough volume to give a spicy, latin... almost sexy feel to the crisp coloring of the room. I think a good way to discribe the place was luxorious but in a very modern way. They had indian/latin silks seperating the dining room from the stairs to the lounge/door out of the bulidling.

It was so pretty in there, the tables were terqoise, and the walls were painted blue with white mixed in, so they almost looked like the sky with a swirling bit of cloud whisping about. The more of that martini I drank, the prettier it got, lol. The open kitchen (Which frank remarked that he liked) was wood on the outside, and silver-industrial on the inside, which made the entire bulding feel whole. The servers were great, because for such a tiny place, they were not in our face the whole time, but took away our plates when required, and didn't abandon us either. Our waters were filled, and our food arrived at a cautious pace. I enjoyed the entire expereince. The food was displayed beautifuly without being tiny, bitch ass servings.

Frank and I both had a lovely time, and we might go back there again.

It's really nice to go somewhere that isn't a chain resturant. The same old shit gets kind of boring sometimes.

I'll write some more later on today.

Love and adoration,

pam


last - guestbook - next



my livejournal
People Glossary
Old shit
Sign my guestbook
Diaryland.com

This is so fucking cute:



*HUGS* TOTAL! give miabogard more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

copyright pam newman, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004 goddamnit. ... You over reacted?